Creating a Sharing Group and Removing Sharing Permissions


This guide covers the following topics, use these links for easier navigation.


Step One: Navigate to Your ePortfolio


1. From your VU Collaborate home page, navigate to your space.

2. Select Toolbox from the Navbar and then select My ePortfolio.

My eportfolio DLS

 

Step Two: Create a Sharing Group


1. Click on the Sharing Groups tab in the ePortfolio menu.
 

step 02

2. Click on the New Sharing Group button.
 

step 03

3. Give your sharing group a title. You can also include a description of the group.

4. Click on Save & Close.

step 04

5. Select the appropriate Sharing Group from the list.

step 05

6. Click on Add Users.

step 06

7. You can Search for users by name, add them to the group by clicking on Add.
 

step 07

 8. You can Assign Permissions to users before you add them.
 

step 08

 

Step Three: Sharing ePortfolio Items with a Sharing Group


Part of the function of sharing groups is to make it easy to share ePortfolio items and collections:

1. To share an item or collection with a sharing group, find the appropriate item and access the menu by selecting the arrow next to the item.

2. Select Share from the menu.

step 09updated

3. Select the Sharing Groups tab.

4. Select the appropriate sharing group.

5. Click on Share and your sharing group will be created.

step 10

 6. You can Assign Permissions to sharing groups before you add them.

step 11

 

Step Four: Remove Sharing Permissions


1.1 Removing Permissions from an Item

1. On the My Items page, click Share from the context menu of the item you wish to modify permission settings. 

step 12

2. Click the Remove icon next to the user or group of users you want to remove permissions from.

step 13

 

1.2 Remove Permissions in a Sharing Group 

1. From the same window, you can also remove permissions from sharing groups.

step 14 

2. Click the Remove icon next to the user or group of users you want to remove permissions from.

Note: You cannot modify sharing groups that your course or organisation shares with you.

1.3 Delete a Sharing Group 

1. Click Sharing Groups from the tool navigation.

2. Click the Delete icon beside the group you want to delete.

step 15

Note: You cannot delete sharing groups that your course or organisation share with you.

1.4 Temporarily Hide and Item from all Users 

1. On the My Items page, click Share from the context menu of the item you want to hide.

2. Click Show Display Options and change the Visibility options available.

step 16 

Tip: Temporarily hide an item when: You want to make changes to it and don’t want others to see it in draft stages. You want to make it available on a specific, predetermined date and want to set up sharing permissions in advance.